Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So, I stayed up all night talking about my journey to motherhood and how it tied into my journey into the fashion blogging industry. As many times as I told my story, it wasn’t until last night that I’d realized how much I lost before I gained all that I needed to get going. As many of you know, I went through a period of confusion. Bored with my work-happy hour-school-home, routine, I began to crave something deep. 

(Exactly how my face looked when I realized I wanted more, Yeezy taught me.) 

I’d studied Human Resource in college for 3 1/2 years before waking up in the middle of the night crying, “I’m tired of this routine.” I’d suffered two miscarriages, I felt infertile and like less of a woman because I thought that I couldn’t bare a child. So, I dove right into exploring what would make me feel more complete. Needless to say, I started my blog, attended my first fashion week event, interviewed with the CFDA to work Fashion week and found out that I was pregnant, within three months of soul searching. All of this winning *in my Beyoncé voice* AFTER I’d lost so much. 

I say all of this to say.. watch out for the storm and get through it. After the storm comes clarity, self discovery and everything that you’ve been praying for. Do not be afraid of a new routine, if it doesn’t make you feel fulfilled than you don’t need it. Storms come and they pass, but you have to get through it to gain what you need. Finally, things are coming together, slowly but they’re coming together. The storm hasn’t passed just yet but it’s clearing. Just remember, after the storm it’s the after party! Fiesta, fiesta!! 

