Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

With the success of FOX’s hit show Empire, no wonder the ‘Lyon Brothers’ have become household names. The actors who play brothers Andre, Jamal, and Hakeem had the honor oth-2f gracing the front of not one but four of ESSENCE’s covers. The three shared a cover together and each had their own of the June issue of the magazine. While we wait for season two we get to know them personally. These brothers are beyond fine and ESSENCE is definitely starting the summer off with some heat!

 

 Trai Byers’, 33, answer to why he stays in shape will make you fall in love with him all over again! unnamed-20The actor says, “I work out for two reasons: one, because I’m an actor and two, because I’m somebody’s [future] husband. I want to be prepared for the woman God has for me.” Lucky woman, he’s thinking of her before she even exist!

Sharing how he went about getting the role of Jamal Lyon, Jussie Smollet, 32, continues to inspire thru this role. Unconventional but up to date with the era he direct messaged Lee Daniels, the show’s creator: unnamed-19“I jumped on Instagram and direct-messaged Lee and said, ‘Sir, I know you get this all the time, but I’m a singer, actor, dancer, songwriter and musician. I am Jamal Lyon in more ways than one.'” That just proves that being yourself and having faith can carry you places may have thought weren’t possible.

 The baby of the three Bryshere “Yazz” Gray, 21, talked about mentoring the youth and the injury that changed his path to the NFL to being a prince on Empire. Many of his youunnamed-18ng fans struggle with being fatherless and can he relate: “I would hear things like, ‘My dad was never in my life…’ and my response was, ‘My dad was never in my life…Don’t feel like you don’t matter.”

Fellas if you need any outfit ideas for Memorial Day weekend it wouldn’t hurt to take a few tips from the covers.

