Tags

, , , , , ,

Now everyone knows I swear by Coconut oil, extra virgin Cold pressed coconut oil to be exact. I have had amazing changes happen in my life all due to this awesome fat. Coconut oil has literally changed my life, from my cholesterol to the health of my hair to my lady’s severely dry skin. SO you want to get the skinny on coconut oil, here it is…

I utilized coconut oil in just about every aspect of my daily life.

 

Coconut oil contains 92% saturated fat ( the highest amount of any other fat) Now while that sounds scary, it’s not as bad as it sounds here’s why…

Most saturated fats are solid at room temperature and contain cholesterol, these are usually animal fats, unlike animal fats however, tropical oils like palm, palm kernel oil and coconut oil are called oils instead of fats and can range from solid, semi-solid or liquid depending on the room’s temperature and they DO NOT CONTAIN CHOLESTEROL. So you see although coconut oil contains a fairly high amount of saturated fat it contains no cholesterol making it pretty healthy for consumption. In fact coconut oil contains roughly 50% lauric acid a component which actively aides in preventing various heart problems like high cholesterol and high blood pressure.

Now if You want to take it a step farther and include your honey in your new voyage into the supple land of moisture, coconut oil can also be used as a great massage oil ;). Some people complain about the scent but I haven’t had any issues with it and neither has my honey. Coconut oil is EXTREMELY moisturizing in that it is one of only a few oils that have molecules small enough to actually absorb into the skin instead of simply sitting on top of the skin like most oils and lotions. Besides making your skin as smooth as a baby’s bottom coconut oil also delays the appearance of lines, wrinkles and sagging skin adding to its anti aging properties. In addition to being a fountain of youth when applied to an infected area coconut oil forms a chemical layer that protects the infected body part from external dust, air, fungi, bacteria and viruses. Coconut oil is also super effective on bruises because it speeds up the healing process of damaged tissues.

For all my moms out there or if you’re simply prone to getting sick you’d probably be interested to know Coconut oil is very effective against a variety of infections due to its anti-fungal, antiviral, and antibacterial properties. According to the Coconut Research Center, coconut oil can kill the viruses that cause influenza, measles, hepatitis, herpes, and other serious health risks. It also kills bacteria that cause ulcers, throat infections, urinary tract infections, pneumonia, and gonorrhea. Last but certainly not least, coconut oil is also effective in the elimination of fungi and yeast that cause ringworm, athlete’s foot, thrush, and diaper rash.

Coconut oil is like my favorite beauty product. It helps my mane to flourish, it brightens and moisturizes my skin, keeps my breath fresh, my heart healthy and my spirit glowing….

For the full article and to see my favorite ways to use this gem head over to Blackgirlmagic.wordpress.com

SHINE BRIGHTLY!

LOVE & LIGHT,

EsH

